Leonard is a Chartered Accountant who joined Waikato commercial company Foster Construction Group in 2003. In 2006, he became a director and shareholder in the company. The following year he was awarded the New Zealand Young Chartered Accountant of the year award for services to business and the community. In 2016 Leonard received a Hamilton Civic Award for services to the community, and received Fellowship recognition with the Chartered Accountants of Australia and New Zealand.  Leonard is a Chartered Member of the Institute of Directors. Leonard is a trustee on the Hamilton Gardens Development Trust, a director and shareholder of Anthem Homes and a member of Gateway Community Church. Leonard lives in Hamilton with his wife Denise and their three boys.




Deputy Chair

Neil is a well-known businessman, entrepreneur, mentor and professional director, and is active in both business and community circles locally, nationally and internationally. He is currently involved with many enterprises in investment and governance capacities, including chair of New Zealand Home Loans, Waikato Aggregates and SmartTrade and is on the boards of Quantec Ltd. Neil is Chair of Child Matters Trust, is a Trustee of Te Awa Trust and has had long-term involvement in the not-for-profit sector. Neil is an Adjunct Professor at the Waikato Management School. Neil lives in Hamilton and has two adult children.


Parekawhia is the NZ Transport Agency Regional Director for the Waikato-Bay of Plenty. She was previously the CEO of Waikato-Tainui. With masters degrees from Waikato University and the University of Wisconsin, she has over 20 years of public policy and public sector management experience. Parekawhia helped establish Maaori Television and acted as strategic advisor to Prime Ministers Bolger, Shipley and Clark. Some current and past governance roles include Sports Waikato, Mighty River Power, Waikato Regional Economic Development Forum, Global Women’s Forum and Deputy Chair of Te Waananga o Aotearoa. She was a 2015 and 2016 finalist in the Westpac-Fairfax Women of Influence Awards. Parekawhia grew up in Whatawhata, has two daughters and is a proud grandmother.



Simon is an experienced executive and director who returned to the Waikato in 2013 following 13 years in Auckland, the United States, and UK. Simon is the CEO of Holdfast, a Director of Jumping Beans International and a Trustee of the McKenzie Centre, a charitable trust providing early intervention services for children with special needs and their families.

Before this, Simon held several senior leadership roles with Les Mills International including Chief Operating Officer and before that Chief Executive of its US business unit based in San Francisco. Simon has experience in the education, forestry, dairy, management consulting and health and fitness industries, with a Bachelor of Management Studies from the University of Waikato. Simon is a member of the Institute of Directors. Spare time is spent with his family, wife Joanne and two school-aged children.



Pam is a scientist and Hamilton businesswoman who has led start-ups in manufacturing, human resources and dairy technology. She is Co-founder and Managing Director of Longveld, a business specialising in stainless steel fabrication which was named Waikato Business of the Year in 2009. Pam is a Chartered Member of the Institute of Directors and serves as a board member for NZ Fieldays Society. Previous governance roles include Wintec, Trust Waikato, Waikato Chamber of Commerce and St Peters School Cambridge. Pam lives in Hamilton with her husband Les, and has three adult children.



Ken’s passionate about fuelling prosperity in the Waikato. A partner at KPMG, Ken works with a diverse range of clients and everyday sees first-hand our region’s great strength in producing, attracting and encouraging people and organisations with a strong sense of purpose, and who have the ambition and attitude to make good things happen.  

Ken’s had roles with KPMG in London and the USA, and spent six years in a senior finance role with Fonterra.  In 2014 Ken was recognised as a Fellow of Chartered Accountants ANZ. Ken received the 2013 NZICA Leadership Award for Innovation. Ken is a trustee and treasurer of Angel Casts Charitable Trust. 

Ken lives in Hamilton with his wife Cynthia and their three young boys.


Jon is an investment advisor and shareholder with Craigs Investment Partners. Jon has held a wide range of governance roles and currently these include board member of Midlands Hockey and Hamilton Golf Club, a trustee of the Donny Charitable Trust, and fundraising committee chair for the Neurological Research Charitable Trust. In 2012 he was awarded the Queen’s Service Medal for services to hockey and in 2013 a Hamilton Civic Award. Jon and his wife Sue live in Hamilton and has two adult children.


Ken was the founding Chair of Momentum. Few people are as passionate about or involved in the greater Waikato community as Ken is. In addition to commercial directorships, Ken has been heavily involved in the not-for-profit sector for decades. He is the Chair of the McKenzie Centre Trust; and a governor of the University of Waikato Foundation; Waikato Diocesan School for Girls; the Order of St John Central Region & Priory Trust Board; and is a Chartered Fellow of the Institute of Directors serving on their Waikato Branch committee. Ken is a founding Trustee of the MS Waikato Trust and was long-serving trustee of Te Whakaruruhau Maori Women’s Refuge. He has been awarded a Queen’s Service Medal for services to the community. He is also a Commander in the Order of St John, and a Paul Harris Fellow (Rotary) recipient. Ken & Julie’s daughter has graduated from the University of Waikato in 2016. They live on a small rural block north of Hamilton.

Board Appointments Panel

The purpose of the Board Appointments Panel is to establish the Trust Board’s composition by evaluating the competencies required of prospective trustees (both non-executive and executive), identifying those prospective trustees, establishing their degree of independence and developing succession plans for the Trust Board.

Membership of the Appointments Panel is made up of:

  • The Chairperson or nominee of the WEL Energy Trust

  • The Chairperson or nominee of the Board of Momentum Waikato

  • One representative appointed by the Appointments Panel in consultation with the mayors of Hamilton City, Waikato District and Waipa District Councils

  • The Chairperson or nominee of the Institute of Directors, Waikato Branch

  • Three independent members appointed by the Appointments Panel taking into account the skills, knowledge and experience required for the Appointments Panel to function in a balanced and effective manner.

The current Appointments Panel members are:

  • Alastair Calder, Appointments Panel Chair, independent

  • Doug Arcus, Mayors’ representative

  • John Birch, independent

  • Simon Lockwood, Chairperson, Institute of Directors, Waikato Branch

  • Mark Ingle, Chair, WEL Energy Trust

  • Jerry Rickman, independent

  • Leonard Gardner, Chair, Momentum Waikato